List of Holidays in August 2022

Listed below is the list of public holidays in August 2022 with some regional holidays being specific to each state:

Date Day Holiday Celebrated in
8 August 2022 Monday Tendong Lho Rum Faat Sikkim
9 August 2022 Tuesday Muharram Many states across India
12 August 2022 Friday Raksha Bandhan Many states across India
12 August 2022 Friday Jhulan Purnima Orissa
13 August 2022 Saturday Patriot’s Day Manipur
15 August 2022 Monday Independence Day Across India
16 August 2022 Tuesday De Jure Transfer Day Pondicherry
16 August 2022 Tuesday Parsi New Year Many states across India
19 August 2022 Friday Janmashtami Many states across India
28 August 2022 Sunday Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab
29 August 2022 Monday Hartalika Teej Chhattisgarh, Sikkim
31 August 2022 Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi Many states across India
The dates in this table are an estimate. We will update this page once the official public holiday dates for 2022 are released.

Note: Please verify the holiday dates with the government gazette.

Bank Holidays in August 2022

Banks in India remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of every month. Apart from this, banks are also closed on national holidays, public holidays, and regional holidays (which differ from state to state). Knowing bank holidays in advance will help to plan your visits to your bank in advance.

Given below are the dates for bank holidays in August 2022:

Date Day Holiday Bank Holiday in
13 August 2022 Saturday 2nd Saturday All states
27 August 2022 Saturday 4th Saturday All States

Note: The second and fourth Saturdays will be the regular bank holidays for all the public sector and private sector banks. The regional bank holidays will differ from state to state. ATMs will remain open on a bank holiday.

Choose your state - Public Holidays 2022

Andaman and Nicobar Delhi Lakshadweep Punjab
Andhra Pradesh Goa Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan
Arunachal Pradesh Gujarat Maharashtra Sikkim
Assam Haryana Manipur Tamil Nadu
Bihar Himachal Pradesh Meghalaya Telangana
Chandigarh Jammu & Kashmir Mizoram Tripura
Chhattisgarh Jharkhand Nagaland Uttar Pradesh
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Karnataka Odisha Uttarakhand
Daman and Diu Kerala Puducherry West Bengal